Media Advisory

MEDIA ADVISORY: Democracy Delivers Development

MCC to Host Official Side Event for White House Summit for Democracy

For Immediate Release

December 2, 2021

WASHINGTON, Dec. 02, 2021 – The U.S. government’s Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC), an innovative and independent U.S. foreign assistance agency, will host a virtual panel discussion as an official side event for the Biden-Harris Administration’s Summit for Democracy on December 07, 7:00a.m. to 8:00a.m. EST.

Speakers include:

  • The Honorable Ami Bera, U.S. House of Representatives (remarks prerecorded)
  • Alexia Latortue, Deputy CEO, Millennium Challenge Corporation
  • H.E. Ouhoumoudou Mahamadou, Prime Minister of Niger
  • H. E. Lazarus Chakwera, President of Malawi
  • The Honorable Battsetseg Batmunkh, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mongolia
  • The Honorable Amadou Hott, Minister of Economy, Planning and Cooperation, Senegal

Details
The discussion will focus on democracies working in partnership to deliver development results, showcasing democracies where MCC’s grant assistance and country leadership and reform agendas have made a significant impact in reducing poverty through economic growth. Speakers will demonstrate how a commitment to accountability and democratic governance has contributed to delivering development results in their country, and how they have partnered with the United States through MCC to strengthen their democratic institutions.

Date:                December 07, 2021

Time:               7:00am (EST) Washington DC

12:00pm (GMT) Dakar; 01:00pm (GMT+1) Niamey; 02:00pm (CAT) Lilongwe, and 08:00pm (GMT+8) Ulaanbaatar

Location:          Virtual – Zoom (registration required)

Length:             60 minutes

Languages:       English, French, Mongolian

Event Registration
Media are welcome to attend the event and must register at the following link: https://www.mcc.gov/news-and-events/event/outreach-120721-panel-democracy-summit?utm_source=pr&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=dem-summit.

Media can contact press@mcc.gov to inquire about interviews with MCC leadership or for other Summit-related queries.

Learn about MCC’s investments by visiting www.MCC.gov.

Learn more about the White House hosted Summit for Democracy: https://www.state.gov/summit-for-democracy/

###