Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Regional Compact

Signed into law in April 2018, the AGOA and MCA Modernization Act gave MCC the authority to enter into concurrent regional compacts to promote cross-border economic integration, trade and collaboration.

In December 2018, for the first time, MCC's Board of Directors selected five countries in West Africa as eligible for regional compacts to allow MCC to work with the countries to determine if there are projects that meet MCC’s strict investment criteria as well as evaluate the countries’ ability to work with MCC and a partner country on a regional investment.

In December 2021, MCC's Board of Directors reselected Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire and Niger as eligible for regional compact programs for regional integration.

In March 2022, MCC's Board of Directors voted to suspend MCC’s assistance to Burkina Faso and its eligibility for a regional regional compact.

In December 2022, MCC signed its first ever Regional Transport Compact with the Governments of Benin and Niger. MCC's Board of Directors also reselected Côte d’Ivoire as eligible for a regional compact program and selected Senegal as eligible for a regional compact program.